ACSS 319 Tuesday 30/6/20

Hi Everyone,

Please join me for The Australian Country Songwriters Show this week on Tuesday 30/6/20.

We have new (to the show) music this week from: Craig Lloyd; Dale Evans; Dani Young; Denvah; Destiny Band Oz; Emma Dykes; Lizzie Steadman; Robbie Bostock; and Taylor Moss.

Our Top 10 Most Requested Songs for this week are: 1. Vanessa Bourne, Lyin’ Cheatin’ Heart; 2. Dan Higgins, Isn’t It A Shame; 3. Andy Penkow, Chasing The Sun; 4. Della Harris, Raining On My Wedding Day; 5. The Silverline, Home Sweet Homeless; 6. Shelly Jones Band, Who Was The Dancing Man; 7. Mitch Dean, A Face In A Long Line; 8. Jed Zarb, Stay For A While; 9. Melissa Robertson, Wouldn’t Be Without You; and 10. Gayle O’Neill & Andrew Swift, Drive Him Crazy.

Our Featured Artist this week, Emma Dykes, has a new single out called This Nurse, and we will be playing it, along with two of our other favourite Emma Dykes songs, in the second hour of the show.

Our Flashback Track from the 2018 play list for the show will be from Lucy Pace; our Featured Instrumental will be from Robbie Bostock; for our Featured International Artist, we’ll once again be going back to the 1940s. One of our Sydney listeners, Lin Golab, has sent us a song called Kiss Kiss Kissin’ in the Corn, which was written by her father, Ernie Davidson and his co-writer, Ken Taylor in 1946. As well as the version that we played last week, the song was also recorded in December 1947 at Majestic Studios in New York by American country singer, Dale Evans, wife of the singing cowboy himself, Roy Rogers. This was the first Australian song to reach the American popular music market; and then, our Featured Indigenous Artist will be Lizzie Steadman.

Our Emerging Talent segment will feature songs from Denvah; Taylor Moss; and Juliet Oliver.

Our Country Ballads segment will feature songs from Peter Smokie Dawson; Lloyd Back; and Tony Smith.

So, the play list will be:

First Hour: Gayle O’Neill & Andrew Swift; Melissa Robertson; Jed Zarb; Mitch Dean; Shelly Jones Band; The Silverline; Della Harris; Andy Penkow; Dan Higgins; Vanessa Bourne; Destiny Band Oz; Ian Burns; Vanessa Delaine; and Craig Lloyd.

Second Hour: Lucille; Heywood & Moore; The Cartwheels; Dom Italiano; Emma Dykes (3 songs); Dani Young; Brenda Lee Kelly; Robert Ross; Lucy Pace; Robbie Bostock; Dale Evans; and Lizzie Steadman.

Third Hour: Clint Wilson; Lusi Austin; Ben Mastwyk; Denvah; Taylor Moss; Juliet Oliver; Ronnie Juodo; Rory Ellis; Chantell Alexi; Peter Smokie Dawson; Lloyd Back; Tony Smith; Terry Ann Maxwell; Karen Thomsen; Michelle Gardiner; and Michael Clare.

I hope you can join me on Tuesday 30/6/2020 from 6.00 pm on TodaysCountry94one 94.1 FM (Central Coast NSW), and later on our broadcast partners, 2 Air FM 107.9 (Coffs Harbour NSW); Seymour FM 103.9 (Seymour VIC); 7 Mid FM 97.1 (Oatlands TAS); EMFM 104.7 (Echuca VIC); 7 TAS FM 97.7 (Port Arthur TAS); and Radio Adelaide FM 101.5 (Adelaide SA).

And don’t forget to vote for your favourite song!